In addition TWC had to pay out over $15 million to customers who were subscribed to CBS-owned programming but were unable to access it. Would you accept just a refund for losing a month of Showtime? Apparently for some, a refund wasn’t enough to keep them connected.

Was all of this just a result of the CBS blackout though? Well, the record numbers are because of the blackout. But, CNNMoney reported that only around 125,000 of the lost subscriptions were because of the blackout, and doesn’t take a genius to see that.Why? Because Comcast, who was unaffected by the CBS debacle, also lost 129,000 customers in Fall quarter this year.  Cable TV subscriptions have been on the decline for some time, and it doesn’t look like things will be getting any better for the networks as more people opt for cutting the cord. On the other hand, high speed internet subscribers are on the rise, so telecoms like TWC aren’t feeling the full effect. I put up a TV antenna, with an amplifier, to take care of my spare sets, as well as I got the Google Chromecast, so I can broadcast TV shows from my PC. It was a little bit of upfront work, but well worth it, just for principle! There’s so much available on the web now, I see absolutely no reason to get Cable or Satellite ever again. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Time Warner Cable Reports Record Losses in TV Subscriptions - 41Time Warner Cable Reports Record Losses in TV Subscriptions - 77